The Season Of Rebirth

Jaye Ruggiero-Cash
2 min readFeb 10, 2024

I sat at the window, watching the snow adorn the trees as it fell. The world was quiet and blanketed in white, all the color gone away. It looked like a blank canvas of sorts.

How fitting for this phase of my life, I thought.

People say winter is the season of death, and I’d experienced plenty of death. More than my fair share. Not just of people, but relationships too. It felt like everything in my life had been dying for the last few years.

But then a thought hit me: Was it really death? Or was it rebirth? I liked that idea a lot better.

I sat with this thought for a while as I sipped my tea, still admiring the snow and the quiet outside. I noticed I felt calm… calmer than I had in a long time. It made me realize, I forgot what calmness felt like. I wasn’t used to it after all the chaos. But even though it felt somewhat foreign, it felt right. And it felt good.

I felt at peace for the first time in years. All those things and people that weren’t good for me no longer weighed me down. I could breathe.

I sipped my tea again, and smiled softly as the snow continued to fall. It looked magical, and it made the world feel beautiful to me again.

From then on, I would always think of winter as the season of rebirth, not death.

Originally published at https://vocal.media.

--

--

Jaye Ruggiero-Cash

Writer | Musician | Actor | Model Lover of all things arts & humanities Gluten Free Foodie IG & TikTok: jaye.ruggierocash